Territory Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards Winners


Nhulunbuy (Gove) wins 2019 Northern Territory Sustainable Communities Tidy Town Award


The proud East Arnhem Land township of Nhulunbuy (Gove) has won the 2019 Northern Territory Sustainable Communities Tidiest Town accolade today in Alice Springs.


Keep Australia Beautiful Council (NT) CEO, Heimo Schober said Nhulunbuy’s (Gove) key stakeholder’s continuous dedication, commitment and collaborative work to keep their community sustainable, tidy and beautiful has certainly paid off this year.

“The residents living in this coastal community have embraced the Sustainable Community Tidy Town program, with many in the community working together in co-operation and collaboration to achieve this prestigious Award,” Mr Schober said.

“The township’s strong culture of community pride and participation helped this Gove Peninsula community win the competition, they’re consistently and continually achieving and maintaining ‘high standards’ all the time, year in and year out.

“The Corporation’s Staff, Traditional Owners and residents of Nhulunbuy (Gove) all deserve this win and acknowledgement for their continual efforts and consistent dedication over the years to ensure their community is the Territory’s Sustainable Community and Tidiest Town.

“This will be Nhulunbuy’s first outright win. It’s been exceptionally inspiring to see Nhulunbuy (Gove) consistently producing and delivering the large community category win every year, for the last seven consecutive years, without losing inspiration.”

The township of Nhulunbuy (Gove) demonstrated great community pride, leadership and collaboration in local sustainability practices and education, and set a wonderful example for other remote communities within their region to follow.

“I congratulate the Nhulunbuy Corporation for their support inspiring Nhulunbuy (Gove) to win this Award,” Mr Schober added.

“Again, Nhulunbuy has won the ‘Large Community’ category award many a times,” Schober said.

Nhulunbuy (Gove) officially became the ‘Territory’s Sustainable Community Tidiest Town’ and is now the Territory’s Finalist after winning the overall NT Award as well as receiving the Category Award for ‘Best Large Community.’

As the Territory’s 2019 Tidiest Town and Sustainable Community, the East Arnhem Land Gove Peninsula community of Nhulunbuy (Gove) will represent the Northern Territory at the Keep Australia Beautiful, Australian Sustainable Community Awards in Santa Teresa Alice Springs next year 2020.

The Territory Sustainable Community Tidy Towns Awards program recognises and acknowledges the commitment, collaboration and hard work undertaken by remote and regional community, key stakeholders, schools, individuals, stores, Rangers, Aboriginal Corporations, businesses and Councils. It showcases innovative ideas and initiatives that improve social and environmental development and sustainability in regional areas of the Northern Territory.

We’d also like to take this time to thank the Community Benefit Fund for their support of our forum and awards this year.

Keep Australia Beautiful Council (NT) – Territory Tidy Towns Awards 2019 Results Table




Overall Winner/ National Finalist

Nhulunbuy-(Gove)  (Nhulunbuy Corporation)

Community Citizen Joe Djakala (Milingimbi)
Best Small Community Wallace Rockhole (MacDonnell Regional Council)
Best Medium Community Santa Teresa-(Ltyentye Apurte)  (MacDonnell Regional Council)
Best Large Community Nhulunbuy-(Gove)  (Nhulunbuy Corporation Ltd)
Best Regional Council MacDonnell Regional Council
‘Dame Phyllis Frost’ Litter Control & Prevention Milingimbi (East Arnhem Regional Council)
Waste Management East Arnhem Regional Council
Community Participation Santa Teresa-(Ltyentye Apurte) (MacDonnell Regional Council)
Resource Recovery Management Milingimbi (East Arnhem Regional Council)
Heritage & Culture Jawoyn Calendar
Mobile Muster East Arnhem Regional Council
Best Landfill Site Santa Teresa-(Ltyentye Apurte)  (MacDonnell Regional Council)
Best Territory Tidy Town School Ltyentye Apurte Catholic School
Clean Green Healthy School Nightcliff Primary School
Geoff Finch Memorial Cup(Encouragement Award) Milyakburra  (East Arnhem Regional Council)

Photos to come!


Media contacts:

KABC(NT):                   Heimo Schober, CEO of KABC(NT) 0407 186 461

Nhulunbuy (Gove):     Nhulunbuy Corporation, Community Engagement Facilitator Michael Rogers, mb – 0455 552 338 or email to mrogers@ncl.net.au