Territory Tidy Town Award goes to Santa Teresa (Ltyentye Apurte)!

Tidy Towns Territory 2018 Santa Theresa
Tidy Towns Territory 2018 Santa Theresa


We are proud to announce that the MacDonnell Regional township of Santa Teresa (Ltyentye Apurte) has won the 2018 Northern Territory Tidiest Town accolade on the weekend in Darwin!

Heimo Schober (Keep Australia Beautiful Council NT CEO) said Santa Teresa’s (Ltyentye Apurte) key stakeholder’s dedication and collaborative work to keeping their community tidy and beautiful has certainly made it a stand-out this year.

“The residents living in the arid region have embraced the Territory Tidy Towns program, with many in the community working together in cooperation and collaboration to achieve this prestigious Award.”

“The township’s strong culture of continuous improvement and community participation helped the MacDonnell Desert community win the competition, they’re achieving ‘new norms’ all the time.”

  • Heimo Schober, KABCNT CEO.

As the Territory’s 2018 Tidiest Town, the central region community of Santa Teresa (Ltyentye Apurte) will represent the Northern Territory at the Keep Australia Beautiful, Australian Tidy Towns Awards in Tasmania next year.

2018 marks the 6th outright win for the MacDonnell Regional Council. The township of Santa Teresa has (Ltyentye Apurte) demonstrated great community collaboration, pride and leadership in local sustainability practices and education, and set a wonderful example for other remote townships to follow.

The Territory Tidy Towns Awards program recognises and acknowledges the commitment, collaboration and hard work undertaken by remote and regional community key stakeholders, schools, individuals, stores, Rangers, Aboriginal Corporations, businesses and Councils.


Keep Australia Beautiful Council (NT) – Territory Tidy Towns Awards 2018 Results Table


Category WINNER
Overall Winner/ National Finalist Santa Teresa-(Ltyentye Apurte) 

(MacDonnell Regional Council)

Community Citizen Justin Colley (Santa Teresa – Ltyentye Apurte)
Best Small Community Wallace Rockhole (MacDonnell Regional Council)
Best Medium Community Santa Teresa-(Ltyentye Apurte) 

(MacDonnell Regional Council)

Best Large Community Nhulunbuy-(Gove) 

(Nhulunbuy Corporation Ltd)

Best Regional Council MacDonnell Regional Council
‘Dame Phyllis Frost’ Litter Control & Prevention Minjilang (West Arnhem Regional Council)
Waste Management Finke (Aputula) –  (MacDonnell Regional Council)
Community Participation Santa Teresa- (Ltyentye Apurte)
Resource Recovery Management Finke (Aputula) –   (MacDonnell Regional Council)
Energy Conservation Maningrida – (West Arnhem Regional Council)
Water Conservation Milingimbi – (East Arnhem Regional Council)
Heritage & Culture Yagbani Aboriginal Corporation
Mobile Muster Alice Springs Town Council
Youth Champion Page McMillan ( Gunbalanya)
Best Territory Tidy Town School Ltyentye Apurte Catholic School
Clean Green Healthy School Parap Primary School
Geoff Finch Memorial Cup

(Encouragement Award)

Maningrida  (West Arnhem Regional Council)


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,