Finke (Aputula) wins 2017 Northern Territory Tidy Town Award

The proud MacDonnell Regional township of Finke (Aputula) has won the 2017 Northern Territory Tidiest Town accolade at the Awards Night held in October 2017 in Alice Springs.


Keep Australia Beautiful Council (NT) CEO, Heimo Schober said Finke’s (Aputula) dedication to keeping their community tidy and beautiful made it a stand-out this year.


“The residents living in the harsh beautiful arid Simpson Desert region have embraced the Territory Tidy Towns program, with many in the community working together in corporation and collaboration to achieve this prestigious Award,” Mr Schober said.


“The township’s strong culture of continuous improvement and community participation helped the MacDonnell Desert community win the competition.


“The MacDonnell Council Staff, Traditional Owners and the residents of Finke all deserve this win for their efforts and dedication to ensure their community is the Territory’s Tidiest Town over the past 12 months.


“This will be MacDonnell Regional Council’s sixth consecutive outright win. It is inspiring to see a Regional Council consistently producing Territory Tidy Town winning communities.”


The township of Finke demonstrated great community pride and leadership in local sustainability practices and education, and set a wonderful example for other remote townships to follow.


“I congratulate the MacDonnell Regional Council for their support inspiring Finke to win this Award,” Mr Schober added.


“Again, the MacDonnell Regional Council has won many categories at the 2017 Territory Tidy Town Awards,” Schober said.


Finke (Aputula) officially became the ‘Territory’s Tidiest Town’ and is now the Territory’s Finalist after winning the overall NT Award as well as receiving the Category Award for ‘Best Medium Territory Tidy Towns Community.’


As the Territory’s 2017 Tidiest Town, the desert community of Finke (Aputula) will represent the Northern Territory at the Keep Australia Beautiful, Australian Tidy Towns Awards in South Australia next year.

The Territory Tidy Towns Awards program recognises and acknowledges the commitment and hard work undertaken by remote and regional community groups, schools, individuals, businesses and Councils. It showcases innovative ideas and initiatives that improve social and environmental development and sustainability in regional areas of the Northern Territory.


Media contacts:

KABC(NT):                   Heimo Schober, CEO of KABC(NT) 0407 186 461

Finke (Apatula):          MacDonnell Regional Council, Communications Officer Darren Pfitzner, P – 0428 040 485 or email to


Keep Australia Beautiful Council (NT) – Territory Tidy Towns Awards 2017 Results Table


Category WINNER
Overall Winner/ National Finalist Finke-(Aputula) (MacDonnell Regional Council)
Community Citizen Justin Colley (Santa Teresa)
Best Small Community Ti Tree-(Anmatjere) (Central Desert Regional Council)
Best Medium Community Finke-(Aputula) (MacDonnell Regional Council)
Best Large Community Nhulunbuy-(Gove) (Nhulunbuy Corporation Ltd)
Best Regional Council MacDonnell Regional Council
‘Dame Phyllis Frost’ Litter Control & Prevention Maningrida (North)

Finke-(Aputula) (South)

Waste Management Finke-(Aputula) (MacDonnell Regional Council)
Community Participation Nhulunbuy-(Gove) (North)

Santa Teresa-(Ltyentye Apurte) (South)

Resource Recovery Management Finke-(Aputula) (MacDonnell Regional Council)
Energy Conservation Nauiyu-(Daly) (Vic Daly Regional Council)
Water Conservation Yuelamu (Central Desert Regional Council)
Heritage & Culture Indigital Storytelling
Mobile Muster East Arnhem Regional Council
BE CROCWISE Nightcliff Primary School
Best Territory Tidy Town School Ltyentye Apurte Catholic Education Centre
Clean Green Healthy School Berry Springs Primary School
Geoff Finch Memorial Cup

(Encouragement Award)

Maningrida (West Arnhem Regional Council)



Finke residents Gareth Lea with son Lachlan Lea standing infront of Finke signage made of aluminium can drink containers

Tags: , , , , , , ,