

# Media Release

# Wallace Rockhole wins 2020 Northern Territory Tidy Town Award

The proud MacDonnell Regional township of Wallace Rockhole has won the 2020 Northern Territory Tidiest Town Sustainable Community accolade announced today 'on line' in Darwin.

Northern Territory participating communities were desktop assessed this year due to COVID19 travel uncertainty, restrictions and isolation requirements.

Keep Australia Beautiful Council (NT) CEO, Heimo Schober said Wallace Rockhole's continual dedication and commitment to keeping their community at its best, tidy and beautiful all the time, made it a stand-out again.

"The residents living in the harsh beautiful MacDonnell region have embraced the Territory Tidy Towns program for so long, with every community member working together in corporation and collaboration to achieve this well-earned prestigious Award yet again," Mr Schober said.

"The township's strong pride and culture of continuous improvement and community participation helped the MacDonnell Desert community win the challenging 2020 competition.

"The MacDonnell Council Staff, Traditional Owners and the residents of Wallace Rockhole all deserve this win for their efforts and dedication to ensure their community is the Territory's Tidiest Town and Sustainable Community.

"This will be MacDonnell Regional Council's eight outright win in nine years. It is inspiring to see a Regional Council consistently producing Territory Tidy Town winning communities."

The township of Wallace Rockhole has always demonstrated great community pride and leadership in local sustainability practices and education, and sets a wonderful example for other remote Territory townships to follow.

"I congratulate the MacDonnell Regional Council for their support inspiring Wallace Rockhole to win this Award," Mr Schober added.

"Yet again, the MacDonnell Regional Council has won many categories at the 2020 Territory Tidy Town Sustainable Community Awards," Schober said.

Wallace Rockhole officially became the 'Territory's Tidiest Town' and is now the Territory's Finalist after winning the overall NT Award as well as receiving the Category Award for 'Best Small Territory Tidy Towns Sustainable Community.'

As the Territory's 2020 Tidiest Town Sustainable Community, the MacDonnell Ranges desert community of Wallace Rockhole will represent the Northern Territory at the Keep Australia Beautiful, Australian Tidy Towns Sustainable Community Awards next year.

The Territory Tidy Towns Sustainable Community Awards program recognises and acknowledges the commitment and hard work undertaken by remote and regional community groups, schools, individuals, businesses and Councils. It showcases innovative ideas and initiatives among community 'Key Stakeholders' that improve social and environmental development and sustainability in regional areas of the Northern Territory.

#### For further information visit www.kabcnt.org.au

## Media contacts:

KABC(NT):	
MRC:	

Heimo Schober, CEO of KABC(NT) **0407 186 461** MacDonnell Regional Council, Communications Officer, email to <u>media@macdonnell.nt.gov.au</u>

### Keep Australia Beautiful Council (NT) – Territory Tidy Towns Awards 2020 Results Table

Category	WINNER
Overall Winner/ National Finalist	Wallace Rockhole (MacDonnell Regional Council)
Best Outstation	Araru Point (DEMED)
Best Small Community	Wallace Rockhole (MacDonnell Regional Council)
Best Medium Community	Santa Teresa-(Ltyentye Apurte)
	Finke-(Apatula) (MacDonnell Regional Council)
Best Large Community	Nhulunbuy-(Gove) (Nhulunbuy Corporation Ltd)
Best Regional Council	MacDonnell Regional Council
4 Gold Stars Accreditation	Wagait
'Dame Phyllis Frost' Litter Control & Prevention	Ti Tree -(Anmatjere)
Waste Management	Santa Teresa-(Ltyentye Apurte)
	(MacDonnell Regional Council)
Community Participation	Nhulunbuy-(Gove)
Resource Recovery Management	Gapuwiyak (East Arnhem Regional Council)
Energy Conservation	Papunya MRC Office - (MacDonnell Regional Council)
Water Conservation Innovation	Yuelamu (Central Desert Regional Council)
Water Conservation	Ngukurr
Environment Action Award	Julalikari Council Aboriginal Corporation
Innovation	Mt Liebig
Innovation (COVID19)	Santa Teresa-(Ltyentye Apurte)
Heritage & Culture	Hermannsburg Historic Precinct
Mobile Muster	East Arnhem Regional Council
Best Territory Tidy Town School	Nhulunbuy Christian School
Clean Green Healthy School	Parap Primary School





